End of Everest Base camp trek and flight to Kathmandu

It is over. The 12 glorious days of doing nothing but gearing up and walking into the mountains is over.

We climb into the plane at Lukla, greeted by the same non-smiling cotton-buds dispersing stewardess. I am sure I am going to puke as my food is still not digested from last night, and to top it all, I had added plenty of alcohol into my system.The guy sitting next to me is in serious danger of having yesterday’s food strewn on his lap.

The plane flies by the snow-capped mountains. For a little while, the peak of Thamserku appeared – that mountain which has a special place in Cheekala’s heart. He’s sure he’s coming back to climb it sometime. We are all in different states of mind I can make out – some are eager to get back to life as it was, some want to hold back. Me? I want life here in the mountains – with Appa and Nika near me. I want it all, don’t I?

The plane lands in Kathmandu, and we are whisked off to Marshyangdi hotel. Padmaja and I spend 4 hours lazing in bed, watching very bad horror movies on TV one after the other. At around 2, we manage to rouse ourselves, and, contrary to what I would believe myself capable of doing, go to watch Kites movie at a mall in Kathmandu. To be frank, the whole experience was fun. We shopped at the mall, and watched the movie, complete with popcorns and coke, and emerged in the evening to the rush hour of Kathmandu traffic.

Headed straight to the hotel room, and finished the bottle of Chianti that I had picked up at the mall. Then set out for an evening in town, starting with the trancy Buddha Bar ( how many Buddha bars are packed into this little country?), followed by dancing at Insomnia. It was pretty much like any lounge/dance place in India, except that the music was mostly electronica. We managed to dance nevertheless. Thanks to Abhishek’s navigational skills, we actually even managed to get back to our Hotel after mid-night, through mazes of streets filled with party-goers.

It was a fun evening, and I have been drinking three days in a row now.  ABout time I stopped.

One thought on “End of Everest Base camp trek and flight to Kathmandu

  1. lukpla March 28, 2014 / 9:26 pm

    Everyone loves what you guys tend to be up too.
    This sort of clever work and coverage! Keep up the great works guys I’ve incorporated you guys to
    blogroll.

Leave a Reply

