N’s third birthday party coming up soon

And Appa and I are discussing how we’d like the party to be – we for a moment were actually wondering if we should ever consider the McDonald’s and Pizza Hut party, but I don’t think we can ever do that. I mean, its not in us, we’d rather have our parties at home, and have it at least feel different.

And call me a control freak or what, but I like to do a lot of things for myself instead of leaving it all to the caterer, or the event manager, or whatever,

So our Bday is going to be really simple – starting with the B’day dress, a simple cotton dress with a few frills and ribbons and what-nots here and there, that N can run around without me having to shout at her for spoiling the satin/silk. And one B’day frock for the day to wear to school.

APpa wants to make a statement with the food – that even though it is a party, we can still try to eat healthy. So apparently we are going to have lots of fruits and juices, and sandwiches and pasta. No chips ( the kids are going to hate this party maybe??)

And we will have N’s toys accessible all over the place, set up different play corners for the kids ( maybe even a play-pool?) – I don’t know. But stuff that we will think about ourselves. And that N can also think about.

She’s already excited – and she’s already named the kids she wants to call. I will keep the guest list to that – my friends, appa’s friends and N’s friends. No family around here , unfortunately, but maybe the Grandparents will come from Mumbai, and maybe little sis will come too. That will be a blast.

While thinking all these thoughts, I came across Madmomma’s post on her kid’s third b’day party. And I realised hey – this is what I’ve been thinking about. Glad to see more people around you who think the way to do, and believe in the authenticity of the experience rather than the show of it.

Incidentally, this is N’s first Bday party in our own house – part of why Appa and I are very excited. The first one was in Guwahati, the second in Mumbai.

6 thoughts on “N’s third birthday party coming up soon

  1. the mad momma March 22, 2010 / 10:41 am

    what? it took you this long to figure out we think alike?
    *bangs head on wall*
    and my goodness.. of course, its N’s third coming up too.:D I can still recall the day I told you I was pregnant. You were quiet for the next three hours.

  2. lostonthestreet March 22, 2010 / 11:13 am

    Oh ya.NOW is the time Appa wants to go all healthy.Not when he is gulping down jalebis and tiramisu.

    IF there are no castles and tattoo artists I am not coming for sure.

  3. kopili March 22, 2010 / 11:14 am

    Ya, ya fine.. I remember the feeling of utter disbelief on that day. Don’t exactly know why – but it was probably because we were far from planning on a kid at that time. Things are so different now!

    • the mad momma March 22, 2010 / 11:31 am

      you bet. funnily i dont feel any different. if you put the three of you back on campus right now I’d happily sit out reading a book, waiting for class to get over and go have lunch with all of you and not feel a day older. really.

  4. kopili March 22, 2010 / 11:23 am

    @LOTS: Now we have a conflict of interest – if you want to assert your rights as Maahi you better come down.

    • the mad momma March 22, 2010 / 11:36 am

      i’ve come to realise that uncles and aunts complicate our simple rules dreadfully.

Leave a Reply

