And while most people are relaxing on a Sunday morning

What are others ( the slightly crazy ones) doing?

One a nice cool morning, they are up and about at 6 am, packing their cycles and helmets onto the back of a car, and taking off to some backroads.

Once there, they race for 2 kms.

Then they cycle for 20kms.

Then they race ( or, in some cases, walk) 5 kms again.

All for the fun of it 🙂

The above, for the benefit, of you-all, is what is called a Duathlon.

And why I am going and doing this I don’t know – but I was the only girl there, and damned I would be if I gave up, so I ignored my heart that was beating like some African drum-beat, and finished the gruelling practice Duathlon.

At the end of it, my reward – applause from the HBC gang, and a Bacardi Breezer!

< And then, this just came in on the email from the Little sister – something called the Badwater Marathon in Death Valley – 135 miles in 130 deg F heat. Nopes, this one I can never fathom doing.>

6 thoughts on “And while most people are relaxing on a Sunday morning

  1. Aarthi August 11, 2009 / 8:04 pm

    this sounds so much fun. It always feels good only you have completed it 😦

    • kopili August 14, 2009 / 11:54 am

      Yes, even if you are crawling the last bit!

  2. Ajay August 13, 2009 / 11:23 pm

    There’s something about these athletic feats that’s just appealing. I cannot explain running marathons, doing duathlons/triathlons or that type of thing in any other way.

    I’m just getting back to running after a 6 week injury break, and I’m looking forward to my next 5K 🙂

  3. Kamala August 18, 2009 / 9:08 am

    You go, girl!

    • Kopili August 18, 2009 / 10:11 am

      Heard about the marathon.. awesome!

  4. sid August 19, 2009 / 2:17 am

    great stuff ba 🙂 wish i was there to give you company..would have been good fun to be part of this
    btw there is a 1 day cycling trip this sunday..in two minds whether to study or go for this

Leave a Reply

