N is grown up – already?

Two conversations in the space of two days that simply floored me. Do all 2 year olds talk like this?

Appa to N: N, we’ll go home and have curd-rice now.

N: No Deuta, we’ll go to Chutney’s restaurant and have idlis there.

< I think my idea of eating out was a samosa or two on the way to my grandmom’s place until, like, the age of 15 maybe. The times, they are a changing>

Me to N: Okay, you want to play at home or go downstairs and play.

N: Ma, I want to so SHOPPING!

< Again, when we were kids, shopping was not a happy thing. It was a thing Ma and Deuta had to do so we could eat. And clothes shopping – why, that happened twice a year, at Bihu and Durga Puja>

I suppose I have only myself and Appa to blame for this !

3 thoughts on “N is grown up – already?

  1. Shahana July 28, 2009 / 5:47 am

    You better not ask her what she wants for her next birthday 🙂

  2. kopili July 29, 2009 / 10:53 am

    Appa is worse – I offered him a bottle of scotch, and he scoffed at it! What do I do??

  3. sid August 19, 2009 / 2:12 am

    i think u let her aijoni mahi stay a bit too long 🙂 she’s getting her traits

Leave a Reply

