Happy Birthday to Me !

Turning 33 is not so bad when you have lots of things to be happy about in life. Not to court the evil eye, but a little bit of counting one’s blessings is a good thing to do on a Bday, no?

Here’s my list, not in any particular order:

  • Appapappa, exasperating man who dresses like a geek at times and like a cool-dude at times, but loves me most of the times( dare I say maybe all the time)!
  • N, who made her first “Happy Bday Ma” card for me, and who is right now emptying all my lotions and powders on the dressing table.
  • Little sis, who’s been driving me up the wall ever since I tried to teach her some Geometry, or Algebra, or I forget what else. Oh yes, something about how to get guys, but thats strictly history 🙂
  • Gypsyfeet, the travel company we’ve started, and about which I dreamt last night that we had made it real big!
  • Under the Bogori Tree“, a set of stories from my childhood memories of Nagaon, – its manuscript in the publisher’s hands while I wait with fingers crossed.
  • The cousin Gitu, who shrieks “Majoni Ba” louder than anybody else when we meet!
  • Aks and S, best friends, who unfortunately live far away – in New York. and who i miss whenever there are really good times.
  • Trees, birds, mountains, clean fresh crisp air, train rides, hikes, walks, flowers
  • Hot spicy samosas, buffet dinners, stinky cheese, good white wines, Biryani, Ma’s cooking….

and parties, especially, surprise parties, thrown by AppaPappa on my Bday!

As a special Bday gift, N tells me a story today:
“Ma, ma, I tell a story.
Once upon a time, there was a… bed.
Bed’s name was Kuklakugoo..
Then, what happened.. ”
And so on, with the table, chair, books, lights, etc etc in the room all getting strange Afrikan sounding names.

And before I forget, here’s the list of books I got as Bday gifts:
2 Gerald Durrells – Rosy is my Relative, and Bafut Beagles
Ruskin Bond – Mini Bus, collection of short storiesin the Himalayas
Ray Bradbury – Zen in the Art of Writing
Kunal Basu – the miniaturist
Pallavi Aiyar – Smoke and Mirrors, an experience of China

These will keep me busy for a while now.

6 thoughts on “Happy Birthday to Me !

  1. blinkandmiss June 1, 2009 / 8:41 pm

    happy birthday!

    .. and i want to listen to the rest of N’s story. where else in the world would i find stories with characters having names like Kuklakugoo!!! love that name totally. 🙂

  2. Aarthi June 2, 2009 / 4:05 am

    Happy Birthday Kanchuki.
    Goodluck with the book….another feather to your hat 🙂 you are inspiring!

  3. lostonthestreet June 2, 2009 / 7:47 am

    Very Soon GypsyFeet will get the number 1 spot…in this list.hahaha
    I never knew you liked biryani that much..

  4. lostonthestreet June 2, 2009 / 7:48 am

    and yes we want a video upload of N’s story

  5. kopili June 2, 2009 / 12:34 pm

    We have to be the laziest parents in terms of taking pics and videos – promise a few soon. soon being the operative word here!
    thx for the Bday wishes everybody..

  6. kopili June 3, 2009 / 4:16 pm

    Thanks so much for your wishes for the book, Aarthi – its really a dream project for me!

Leave a Reply

