Bomb blast in Assam: once more

I don’t have anything new to say about this. Its the same stuff happening all over again. Its just depressing.

The media, always sensationalists, seem more repulsive today as they scream out for the audience details of the person who is seen burning on the screen. I understand they want to present the true story, but the images are just too graphic. And somehow I always had a problem with the tone of coverage – a hint of excitement in the reporters voice instead of sympathy for the people who died or are injured. And pointing out clearly that so-and-so were first to cover the event and so on.

Wonder how this will affect the elections if at all?

2 thoughts on “Bomb blast in Assam: once more

  1. Space Bar April 6, 2009 / 7:23 pm

    *sigh* it must be terrible to watch all this happening. hope you guys are ok. when are you back?

  2. Kakoli April 8, 2009 / 9:07 pm

    You’re so very right…I had missed that site for I was watching national channels the day of the incident in Bangalore. The next day I watched all local channels – and the image is very depressing…no other words. As I travel around Guwahati now…under flyovers…near auto stands, the image comes back to me…what/when will be the end of worry? And then I hear the election campaign speeches…no, I don’t have strength to change it all…I’m just a pawn in the game…a helplessness sinks in..but we must do all we can..bit by bit…and perhaphs that’s what brings me here..

Leave a Reply

