Off to Guwahati tomorrow

Got an early morning flight to catch.  Its the first time I am travelling with N alone – wish me luck! I am armed with books and toys.. I hope it is enough to entertain her for 5 hours!

I’m going to travel in the NE for 3 weeks – leaving N with the grandparents. Yes, its ambitious. But I have to do it, sooner or later.  And I figured that leaving her with my parents and travelling so I can be back quickly in case something comes up, is the best way to start. Keeping my fingers crossed on how it goes.

N has already expressed her displeasure by developing an upset tummy.

I am really wondering how she will react to me not being there.

Will she cry incessantly and refuse to be held by anybody else ? ( in this case, back I come from whereever I am of course)

Will she – remember me when she needs comforting and be okay otherwise? ( should get her used to my Mum as much as I can in the next 3 days in Ghy)

Will she – not remember me at all and be very happy in the company of the grandparents? ( this will allow me to finish my travel, but when I come back she may not know me anymore. Horror of horrors. )

I will find out soon. I will also find out about how I feel leaving her and traveling. For the first time since she was born, I will be away from her. Whew! Its really a big deal.

6 thoughts on “Off to Guwahati tomorrow

  1. Jennifer December 6, 2008 / 9:42 am

    It is so difficult to leave the little ones for the first time. Whew! 3 weeks is a long time! If she loves her grandparents, she’ll adjust OK. You might have some adjusting to do when you get back, but I’m sure she’ll be OK. Have a great time and enjoy your alone time!

    • kopili January 8, 2009 / 10:36 pm

      Hi – i managed to make the trip – blogging about it now since the connectivity was very bad. check it out..
      Hows your writing going? any breaks?

  2. BD December 6, 2008 / 5:06 pm

    Good luck, I am sure N will be fine.
    Looking forward to read your travel blogs from the North Eastlike that article on Arunanchal, which I thoroughly enjoyed.

  3. Space Bar December 6, 2008 / 9:07 pm

    She’ll be fine. Kids are fickle as hell, don’t worry. 😀

    Very, very sorry we couldn’t meet. I’m leaving tomorrow and there was suddenly a lot to do.

  4. lostonthestreet December 7, 2008 / 7:03 am

    Aah I see where this is coming from.You are scared that she will forget you just like you forgot Ma , after spending a couple of months in Nagaon.

  5. kopili December 12, 2008 / 9:51 pm

    LOTS: childhood trauma and all you see.

Leave a Reply

