Tad Sad

The packers came today.. the house is empty now, except for our clothes for Italy. Appa and N are sleeping on the sleeping bags – no furniture left in the house.

A twinge of sadness coming over me – we’ve stayed here for 3 years, and there are a number of happy memories of this place. S said earlier today ” It was a home, now its a house”. Our friends have been merciless teasing us about how our place was always messy – but they said they always felt welcome here too. So I guess all in all, Appa and I had a happy home here. Appa and I have had our quarrels when it comes to housekeeping – bickering about when and who should clean. He, having a higher dirt tolerance, could live without doing the dishes for a day or two, I on the other hand could not. Therefore, you know who did most of the cleaning up – especially tiring after Appa would make lavish spreads and invite folks. I’m glad though we did have our get-togethers, invited friends over often, had fun in the house – at the cost of keeping the house spic and span. Well, you win some, you lose some. 

We are dreaming of a nice house in hyderabad that we will do up – and will have frequent parties and get-togethers. And where we can have a TT table, and a yard for N to play, and a garden for  me to grow my fruits and veggies and flowers. And where my sis, parents, cousins, friends, everybody – will drop by often and feel comfortable in.

Lets toast to that!

8 thoughts on “Tad Sad

  1. Shahana October 1, 2008 / 11:10 am

    I am very sad that you are leaving. And somewhere, very angry too.
    But knowing that this is what you really want makes me wish nothing but the BESTEST for you ; though my ears will be tingling to hear that this was probably not your wisest move.

    Heeeehaawwwwhaawwwhawwww…

    Also, please be ready to answer your phone at any time of the day or night for I will call and call I will !

    Heeeehaawwwwhaawwwhawwww…

  2. lostonthestreet October 1, 2008 / 10:29 pm

    My Comment : total opp of shahana’s comment.heeeehaaaaaaaahehehe

  3. G October 2, 2008 / 2:11 pm

    Yeah, I had the same feeling during my last days in the Fremont apartment. Funny thing is, reading your post, I’m beginning to get nostalgic about *your* Kirkland house. It was a dump (or rather you made it one), but it felt like home 😦

  4. BD October 5, 2008 / 10:06 pm

    Second that, Lots of good times, and photos to prove it.

  5. kausiki October 9, 2008 / 11:57 pm

    Eagerly waitin for u here sis!m soooooo glad

  6. the mad momma October 29, 2008 / 11:08 pm

    whats a little dirt when you have a happy home… 🙂

  7. Space Bar November 6, 2008 / 8:20 pm

    here’s hoping you find that yard, the space for the tt table and for your veg and fruit…you should totally get the house opposite.

  8. kopili November 12, 2008 / 10:17 am

    I wish.. if only the guy would give it at a price we can afford!

Leave a Reply

